Journey to THE SPACE BETWEEN THE STARS

the space between stars book buzzA daring debut, this week’s Igloo Book Buzz selection, Anne Corlett’s THE SPACE BETWEEN THE STARS, is to be published by Berkley on Tuesday, June 13. The title been generating great advance buzz as readers delve into the dimensions of this question: “When the world ends, where will you go?” The author says, “I knew from very early on that I wanted to explore the idea of the stories we tell ourselves about our lives, and the patterns we try to puzzle out.” The book’s editor, Cindy Hwang, Vice President, Editorial Director at Berkley, became an instant fan: “From the very first word, I was immediately drawn in by the extraordinary journey—both inner and outer—that Jamie, the protagonist, goes on in THE SPACE BETWEEN THE STARS. It’s a remarkable first novel that resonated with me long after I finished reading, and I am thrilled to share it with American readers.”

The media has joined, expressing excitement about THE SPACE BETWEEN THE STARS, including the book in a number of must-read round-ups from outlets such as Hello Gigglesio9The Verge, and Tor.com, with an Associated Press review scheduled for later this month. Hello Giggles also featured the title in a fun quiz to help readers decide what book to read this summer.

Anne Corlett

Anne Corlett

Reviewers and fellow authors have been offering their own praise. Here is a sampling:

  • “THE SPACE BETWEEN THE STARS will appeal to fans of Emily St. John Mandel’s STATION ELEVEN and Peter Heller’s THE DOG STARS as well as to readers of women’s fiction looking to branch out into new genres.”—Booklist

 

  • “Outside of its sci-fi elements, really, [THE SPACE BETWEEN THE STARS] is about finding yourself and your place in the universe.”—SheKnows.com

 

  • “THE SPACE BETWEEN THE STARS is a fast-moving and gripping ‘end of the worlds’ tale focused on the efforts of flawed survivors to ensure the end is not the end of humanity.” –Jack Campbell, New York Times bestselling author of VANGUARD

 

  • “With its unique plot and luminous prose, it’s hard to believe that THE SPACE BETWEEN THE STARS is a debut novel.  Anne Corlett understands the complexities and frailties of the human heart and captures it brilliantly on the page.  Don’t let the setting fool you—this is a story for any age, combining love, loss, grief, hope and possibilities all in one delicious book.  Definitely one for my keeper shelf.”—Karen White, New York Times bestselling author of THE GUESTS ON SOUTH BATTERY


Posted: June 12, 2017