Bantam Author Laurie R. King Named 2022 MWA Grand Master + Our Edgar Nominees

Share this story with your world:

The Mystery Writers of America has bestowed this year’s prestigious Grand Master honor to Bantam author Laurie R. King, the prolific novelist widely admired for her Mary Russell/Sherlock Holmes novels, which include such titles as CASTLE SHADE, RIVIERA GOLD and ISLAND OF THE MAD.

Laurie R. King, Photo © Josh Edelson

Hilary Teeman, Executive Editor, Ballantine Bantam Dell, commented, “We are absolutely thrilled that Laurie has been named as MWA Grand Master, recognizing her quarter-century career as a mystery writer and beloved storyteller. From her acclaimed Mary Russell/Sherlock Holmes novels, to her contemporary procedurals to her standalone suspense novels, Laurie’s devotion to the craft of writing, and to spinning propulsive and surprising stories, is evident in every project she undertakes. Laurie is a tireless advocate for the mystery genre and community, a cherished author to her readers and endless source of inspiration for writers and editors alike.”

The MWA also announced the nominees for the 76th Annual Edgar Allan Poe Awards, honoring the best works in mystery fiction, nonfiction, and television published or produced in 2021. This year’s Edgar Awards ceremony will take place on April 28 at the New York Marriott Marquis Times Square.

Our Edgar nominees:

Best First Novel by an American Author

SUBURBAN DICKS by Fabian Nicieza (G.P. Putnam’s Sons)

WHAT COMES AFTER by JoAnne Tompkins (Riverhead Books)

THE DAMAGE by Caitlin Wahrer (Pamela Dorman Books/Viking)

Best Paperback Original

KILL ALL YOUR DARLINGS by David Bell (Berkley)


THE SHAPE OF DARKNESS by Laura Purcell (Penguin Books)

Best Fact Crime

THE CONFIDENCE MEN: How Two Prisoners of War Engineered the Most Remarkable Escape in History by Margalit Fox (Random House)

TWO TRUTHS AND A LIE: A Murder, a Private Investigator, and Her Search for Justice by Ellen McGarrahan (Random House)

Best Juvenile

Aggie Morton, Mystery Queen: THE DEAD MAN IN THE GARDEN by Marthe Jocelyn (Tundra Books, a Penguin Random House Canada imprint)

Best Young Adult

THE GIRLS I’VE BEEN by Tess Sharpe (G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers)

The Simon & Schuster Mary Higgins Clark Award

CLARK AND DIVISION by Naomi Hirahara (Soho Crime, an imprint of SoHo Press, a PRHPS client publisher)

The G.P. Putnam’s Sons Sue Grafton Memorial Award

SLEEP WELL, MY LADY by Kwei Quartey (Soho Crime, an imprint of SoHo Press, a PRHPS client publisher)

In addition to naming Laurie R. King the 2022 Grand Master, the MWA also announced that its highly regarded Ellery Queen Award is going to Juliet Grames, Associate Publisher, Soho Press, a PRHPS client publisher.

View the complete list of MWA nominees and honorees here.

Our congratulations to Ms. King, Ms. Grames, and all of our Edgar nominees and their publishers.

Posted: January 27, 2022