Knopf Author Joy Williams Wins ’21 Kirkus Prize for Fiction

Share this story with your world:

Jacket design: Kelly Blair; Author photo: Michael Lionstar

Kirkus Reviews announced the winners of its eighth annual Kirkus Prize, in the categories of fiction, nonfiction, and young readers literature. Knopf author Joy Williams won the fiction prize for HARROW.

In her acceptance speech, Ms. Williams remarked, “I’m so grateful to Deb Garrison and everyone at Knopf past and present who helped bring HARROW to the finish line and beyond, to my agents Amanda Urban and Molly Atlas, and to Kelly Blair for the striking cover design. I think of this book, which was formed over so many years, as an existence unto itself quite apart from the writing of it. The readers and judges of Kirkus, by commending and honoring its heart and howl, have given HARROW further presence. Thank you, thank you.”

The young readers literature prize went to Christina Soontornvat for ALL THIRTEEN: The Incredible Cave Rescue of the Thai Boys’ Soccer Team, published by Candlewick Press, a Penguin Random House Publisher Services client publisher.

The virtual ceremony live was streamed from the Austin Public Library in Austin, Texas, on Thursday, October 28. The Kirkus Prize competition was created in 2014 to celebrate quality writing and Kirkus Reviews’ more than 80-year legacy of literary criticism.

Congratulations to Ms. Williams, her editor Deb Garrison, and everyone at Knopf. Congratulations also to Ms. Soontornvat , Candlewick Press, and the Penguin Random House Publisher Services team.

To view all of the 2021 Kirkus Prize winners, click here.

Posted: October 29, 2021