Our 2017 Indies Choice Award Winners and Picture Book Hall of Fame Inductee

indies choice 2017 logoThe American Booksellers Association (ABA) has announced the winners of the 2017 Indies Choice Awards, with books published by Penguin Random House imprints taking three of the major awards. Through “Indies Choice,” independent booksellers from ABA member stores selected their favorite titles published last year, casting their votes via online balloting. These booksellers also chose three new inductees into the Picture Book Hall of Fame, including one of our beloved children’s book author/illustrators.

Book of the Year – Adult Fiction
indies choice 2017THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD by Colson Whitehead (Doubleday)

Book of the Year – Adult Debut
HOMEGOING: A Novel by Yaa Gyasi (Alfred A. Knopf)

Book of the Year – Young Adult
SALT TO THE SEA by Ruta Sepetys (Philomel Books)

Picture Book Hall of Fame
MILLIONS OF CATS by Wanda Gag (G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers)

Please join us in congratulating our award winners and new hall of famer, their publishers, and our sales teams upon receiving this gratifying recognition from our valued bookseller partners,

All prizes and honors will be presented at the Celebration of Bookselling and Author Awards Lunch at BookExpo in Manhattan on Wednesday, May 31, from 12:00 to 1:30 p.m.  The award-winning authors will sign copies of their books in the ABA lounge immediately afterward.

A complete list of Indies Choice award winners can be viewed here.

Posted: May 10, 2017