Our 2019 Edgar Awards Nominees

Share this story with your world:

The Mystery Writers of America (MWA) has announced the nominees for the 2019 Edgar Allan Poe Awards, honoring the best in mystery fiction, nonfiction as well as television teleplays published or produced in 2018. Seven books published by Penguin Random House imprints and Penguin Random House Publisher Services (PRHPS) publisher clients earned nominations in the following categories:

Best Novel

ONLY TO SLEEP by Lawrence Osborne (Hogarth)
A TREACHEROUS CURSEby Deanna Raybourn (Berkley)

Best First Novel

WHERE THE CRAWDADS SING by Delia Owens (G.P. Putnam’s Sons)

Best Paperback Original

THE PERFECT NANNY by Leila Slimani (Penguin Books)

Best Fact Crime

THE FEATHER THIEF: Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century
by Kirk Wallace Johnson (Viking)

Best Juvenile

RA THE MIGHTY: Cat Detective by A.B. Greenfield (Holiday House, a PRHPS publisher client)

Mary Higgins Clark Award

THE WIDOWS OF MALABAR HILL by Sujata Massey (Soho Crime, a PRHPS publisher client)

Congratulations to our nominated authors, their editors and publishers.

To view the complete list of 2019 Edgar Awards nominees, click here.

Edgar Awards will be presented to the winners at the MWA’s 73rd Gala Banquet on April 25 at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in Manhattan.

This year’s Grand Master honor is being bestowed upon author Martin Cruz Smith.

Posted: January 25, 2019