Our Dual 2017 Carnegie Medal Winners and More ALA Awards Honorees

ala logoThe American Library Association selected THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD by Colson Whitehead (Doubleday) as the winner of the 2017 Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction, and EVICTED: Poverty and Profit in the American City by Matthew Desmond (Crown) as the winner of the 2017 Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction. More of our children’s, YA and adult authors and books were honored at this week’s ALA Midwinter meeting. As a follow-up to our earlier Igloo coverage, Our 2017 ALA Award Honorees, we recognize and celebrate these honorees:

Andrew Carnegie Medal

97805534474399780385542364For Excellence in Fiction

For Excellence in Nonfiction

Laura Ingalls Wilder Award

Penguin Young Readers author Nikki Grimes, for her substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.

97803991754119780449813379Schneider Family Book Award

  • SIX DOTS: A Story of Young Louis Braille, written by Jen Bryant, illustrated by Boris Kulikov (Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers), for embodying an artistic expression of the disability experience.

APALA Award for Young Adult Fiction

  • OUTRUN THE MOON by Stacey Lee (G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers), from the Asian/Pacific American Librarians Association (APALA), an affiliate of the American Library Association.

Stonewall Award

97811019887639781594632419Alex Awards

For the best adult books that appeal to teen audiences

97811019471359780812998481Notable Books Council’s 2017 Notable Books List




The Reading List Council’s Best in Genre Fiction for Adult Readers

Historical Fiction

97811019025789780812988901Women’s Fiction

The Listen List Council’s Outstanding Audiobook Narration for Adult Listeners

Zora Neale Hurston Award

  • Trevor Noah, author of BORN A CRIME(Spiegel & Grau/Random House) and host of Comedy Central’s The Daily Show, as an individual who has demonstrated leadership in promoting African American literature.

Congratulations to all of our honorees. Check back for further Penguin Random House ALA Awards news.

Posted: January 23, 2017