PRH’s Multiple ALA Accolades: Eggers, Martin ‘24 Newbery Medal, Honor Winners—More

Warming news to begin a new year of literary and cultural awards opportunity for Penguin Random House authors, illustrators, and imprints:

Dave Eggers has been awarded the 2024 John Newbery Medal for the most distinguished children’s book published in 2023, for his “The Eyes and The Impossible,” published by Knopf Books for Young readers.

It is a beautifully crafted novel about a stray dog named Johannes, guardian of an urban park by the sea. Narrated by Johannes, it delves into the meaning of art and life and friendship, and most of all, the joys of running very, very fast.

Pedro Martin, author and illustrator of “MexiKid,” published by Dial Books for Young Readers, has received a Newbery Honor.

They are among the numerous ALA Youth Media Awards bestowed upon Penguin Random House books and their creators during the LibLearnX, the Library Learning Experience (formerly the American Library Association Mid-Year Meeting), a national start-of-year annual gathering of librarians, educators, publishers, authors, and illustrators. The January 22 Youth Media Awards ceremony celebrated 2023’s best in children’s publishing.

The prizes and accolades received by Penguin Young Readers, Random House Children’s Books, and Penguin Random House Audio titles—most of which are also available as Listening Library productions—include:

The Collectors,” edited by A.S. King (Dutton Books for Young Readers), is the recipient of the Michael L. Printz Award, which honors the best book written for teens. It contains stories written by King and nine other acclaimed young adult literature authors about remarkable people and their strange and surprising collections.

Salt the Water” by Candice Iloh (Dutton Children’s Books) has received a Michael L. Printz Honor—as has “The Girl I Am, Was, And Never Will Be” by Shannon Gibney (Dutton’s Children’s Books).

Christopher Paul Curtis is the recipient of the Coretta Scott King—Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement. Presented in even years to an African American author, illustrator, or author/illustrator for a body of his or her published books for children and/or young adults, and who has made a significant and lasting literary contribution.

“MexiKid,” written and illustrated by Pedro Martin (Dial Books for Young Readers), also received the Pura Belpre Youth Illustration Award, which honors a Latina writer whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.

Ariana Del Mar Jumps In,” by Jasminne Mendez (Dial Books for Young Readers) has been selected as a 2024 Pura Belpre Author Honor Book.

Something Like Home” by Andrea Beatriz Arango (Random House Books for Young Readers) also is named a 2024 Pura Belpre Author Honor Book.

The Mona Lisa Vanishes” by Nicholas Day and illustrator Brett Helquist (Random House Studio) receives the Robert F. Sibert Award for most distinguished informational book for children.

Our American Indian Youth Literature Honor Recipients:

Contenders: Two Native Baseball Players, One World Series” written by Traci Sorell and illustrated by Aigon Starr (Kokila).

She Persisted: Deb Haaland” written by Laurel Goodluck and illustrated by Alexandra Boiger and Gillian Flint (Philomel Books).

She Persisted: Maria Tallchief” written by Christine Day and illustrated by Alexandra Boigef and Gillian Flint (Philomel Books).

She Persisted: Wilma Mankiller” written by Traci Sorell and illustrated by Alexandra Boiger and Gillian Flint (Philomel Books).

Remember” written by Joy Harjo and illustrated by Michaela Goade (Random House Studio) receives an American Indian Library association Youth Literature Picture Book Honor.

Young Readers author Kyle Lukoff has been bestowed the ALSC Children’s Literature Lecture Award.

Neal Shusterman has received the 2024 Margaret A. Edwards Award, which honors an author, as well as a specific body of their work, for a significant and lasting contribution to young adult literature.

From Here” by Luma Mufleh (Nancy Paulsen Books) receives a YALSA Nonfiction Honor, which recognizes the best nonfiction book published for young adults.
PRH Audio

This ALA Awards weekend also recognized Audio excellence. Penguin Random House Audio productions received several honors.

El Deafo” by Cece Bell (Listening Library) is the 2024 Odyssey Award winner for children and young adults, the highest audiobook production prize. The Newbery Honor-winning graphic novel was adapted for audio with a full cast and sound effects, and produced by Matie Argiropoulos.

“ MexiKid” by Pedro Martin (Listening Library) is recognized as a 2024 Odyssey Honor audiobook. It also is a 2024 Newbery Honor winner.

The RUSA Listen List, from ALA subdivision Reference and User Services Association, includes four PRH Audio titles:

Chain-Gang All-Stars” by Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah, read by Shayna Small, Aaron Goodson, Michael Crouch, and Lee Osorio (Random House Audio).

Happiness Falls” by Angie Kim, read by Shannon Tyo, Sean Patrick Hopkins, and Thomas Pruyn (Random House Audio).

The Heaven and Earth Grocery Store” by James McBride, read by Dominic Hoffman (Penguin Audio).

Vera Wong’s Unsolicited Advice for Murderers” by Jesse Q. Sutano, read by Eunice Wong. (Penguin Audio).

Posted: January 23, 2024