Saunders and Grann Carnegie Medals for Excellence Finalists

Share this story with your world:

Two widely acclaimed books published earlier this year by Penguin Random House imprints are among the finalists for the 2018  Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction, bestowed by the American Library Association:     


LINCOLN IN THE BARDO by George Saunders (Random House)


KILLERS OF THE FLOWER MOON: The Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI by David Grann (Doubleday)

Mr. Saunders’s novel won the Man Booker Prize in October.  Mr. Grann’s work is a finalist for a 2017 National Book Award in the Nonfiction category.

View the complete list of finalists here.

Established in 2012, the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence serve as an ALA guide to help adults select quality reading material.

The newest winners will be announced on February 11, 2018 during the ALA Midwinter Meeting & Exhibits in Denver. Each Carnegie Medal winner will receive $5,000.

Posted: October 25, 2017