NBA winnerOur authors’ and our treasured long-standing good fortune with the annual National Book Awards continued Wednesday night in downtown Manhattan, as Colson Whitehead’s THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD won the 2016 prize for Fiction. This is the fourth consecutive year a Penguin Random House title has been honored in this category.

Mr. Whitehead accepted his award to thunderous applause from the 700 guests, among them, our CEO Markus Dohle, publishing colleagues from across our imprints, and members of the Penguin Random House shareholder board, including Bertelsmann Chairman and CEO Thomas Rabe and Pearson CEO John Fallon, both attending their first-ever NBA ceremony.

In THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD (Doubleday HC & E-Book; Random House Audio; Penguin Random House Canada distribution; Literatura Random House/Penguin Random House Grupo Editorial, Fall 2017), a #1 New York Times Hardcover Fiction bestseller from Doubleday, Colson Whitehead tells the harrowing story of Cora, an indomitable teenage slave and her desperate bid for freedom from an antebellum cotton plantation in Georgia circa 1850.  In August, THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD became an Oprah’s Book Club selection, was excerpted in a stand-alone New York Times Magazine section, and received rave reviews. In her New York Times daily review, Michiko Kakutani said the novel “possesses the chilling matter-of-fact power of the slave narratives collected by the Federal Writers’ Project in the 1930s, with echoes of Toni Morrison’s Beloved, Victor Hugo’s Les Misérables, Ralph Ellison’s Invisible Man, and brush strokes borrowed from Jorge Luis Borges, Franz Kafka and Jonathan Swift… Whitehead has told a story essential to our understanding of the American past and the American present.”

Colson Whitehead

Colson Whitehead

From the podium, Mr. Whitehead exuberantly observed that the “last four months since the book came out have been incredible,” noting that Doubleday has been his “only publisher for eighteen years” he’s been an author.  He thanked his publicity teams over the years, and praised his editor Bill Thomas: “No matter what kooky [book] idea I come up with, he assures me we will do an incredible job publishing it. Thank you for your faith in me all these years,” said Mr. Whitehead.  “It is incredible to have someone like Bill in your corner.”

Earlier in the evening Knopf/Vintage author Robert A. Caro was presented with the National Book Foundation’s 2016 Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters.  Read a report on this memorable moment here.

In a book world of dizzying change, the National Book Awards ceremony dinner remains a celebration of authors, publishers, and the readers we serve. Our cross-company pride in Colson Whitehead’s achievement, and in Bill Thomas, and the publishing team at Doubleday, also embraces our multiple Penguin Random House NBA longlist semi-finalists and short list finalists this year.

It continues to be a humbling privilege for us to have the opportunity to bring their work to the widest possible audience.

Here is a complete list of our National Book Award winners since the formation of Penguin Random House:

2016: THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD by Colson Whitehead (Doubleday)

2015: FORTUNE SMILES: Stories by Adam Johnson (Random House)

2014: REDEPLOYMENT by Phil Klay (Penguin Press)

2013: THE GOOD LORD BIRD by James McBride (Riverhead)

2015: BETWEEN THE WORLD AND ME by Ta-Nehisi Coates (Spiegel & Grau)

2015: VOYAGE OF THE SABLE VENUS by Robin Coste Lewis (Knopf)

Young People’s Literature:
2014: BROWN GIRL DREAMING by Jacqueline Woodson (Nancy Paulsen Books)

Posted: November 17, 2016