Three PRH Authors Win Whiting Foundation Nonfiction Grants

Share this story with your world:

The Whiting Foundation announced the nine winners of its $40,000 nonfiction grants for books-in-progress, including three Penguin Random House authors. According to the Foundation, “The Whiting Creative Nonfiction Grant’s chief objective is to foster original, ambitious projects that bring writing to the highest possible standard … Intensely researched nonfiction books, written with an artful sensitivity to complexity and nuance, have always been important in shaping the way we understand the world; today they are essential.”

Our Whiting Grant winners:

  • Rebecca Clarren, An American Inheritance (Penguin Books)
  • Kevin González, Juracán (Pantheon)
  • Catherine Venable Moore, Disunion (Random House)

View the complete list of 2021 Whiting Foundation Nonfiction Grant winners here.

Posted: November 15, 2021