Our ALA Midwinter Award Winners and Honorees, Part Two: Michael L. Printz, Coretta Scott King Award Winners, and More

Share this story with your world:

Continuing our coverage of this year’s American Library Association (ALA) Midwinter Meeting award winners and honorees:  



Michael L. Printz Award Winner

WE ARE OKAY by Nina La Cour (Dutton Books for Young Readers)

The Michael L. Printz Award annually honors the best book written for teens.

Coretta Scott King John Steptoe Award for New Talent Winner

THE STARS BENEATH OUR FEET by David Barclay Moore (Knopf Books for Young Readers)

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.

Laura Ingalls Wilder Award Winner

Jacqueline Woodson

The Wilder Award honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.

Schneider Family Book Award Winner

YOU’RE WELCOME, UNIVERSE by Whitney Gardner (Knopf Books for Young Readers)

The Schneider Family Book Award is for the title that best embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience.

Mildred L. Batchelder Award Winner

THE MURDERER’S APE by Jakob Wegelius, translated by Peter Graves (Delacorte Press)

The Mildred L. Batchelder Award is for the most outstanding children’s book originally published in a language other than English.

William C. Morris Award Finalist  

DEAR MARTIN by Nic Stone (Crown Books for Young Readers)

The William C. Morris Award recognizes a debut title by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature.

Pura Belpré Medal Author

LUCKY BROKEN GIRL by Ruth Behar (Nancy Paulsen Books)

Pura Belpré Medal Illustrator

LA PRINCESA AND THE PEA by Juana Martinez-Neal (G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers)

Pura Belpré Honor Authors

FIRST RULE OF PUNK by Celia C. Pérez (Viking Books for Young Readers)

THE EPIC FAIL OF ARTURO ZAMORA by Pablo Cartaya (Viking Books for Young Readers)

The Pura Belpré awards, medals and honors are presented to Latino/Latina writers and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth. 

Previously posted: Our ALA Midwinter Award Recipients, Part One: Odyssey, RUSA Listen Audio Winners

More ALA Awards news  to come.


Posted: February 12, 2018