Our 5 L.A. Times Book Prize Winners

Share this story with your world:

The 39th annual Los Angeles Times Book Prizes were announced at the L.A. Times Festival of Books this past weekend at the University of Southern California, and among the award winners for books published in 2017 were five titles from Penguin Random House imprints in the following categories:


Mohsin Hamid, EXIT WEST (Riverhead Books)

Art Seidenbaum Award for First Fiction

Jenny Zhang, SOUR HEART (Lenny / Random House)

The Christopher Isherwood Prize for Autobiographical Prose Winner

Benjamin Taylor, THE HUE AND CRY AT OUR HOUSE: A Year Remembered (Penguin Books)

Current Interest

Nancy MacLean, DEMOCRACY IN CHAINS: The Deep History of the Radical Right’s Stealth Plan for America (Viking/Penguin)

Science & Technology

Robert M. Sapolsky, BEHAVE: The Biology of Humans at Our Best and Worst (Penguin Press)

Congratulations to our award-winning authors, their editors and publishers.

To view the complete list of this year’s L.A. Times Book Prize winners, click here.

The Los Angeles Times Book Prizes were first awarded in 1980, with the idea of honoring literary excellence and celebrating the community of readers in Los Angeles. The inspiration of former L.A. Times book editor Art Seidenbaum, those first prizes included awards in four book categories – fiction, history, general nonfiction and poetry.

Posted: April 23, 2018